Newsletter Signup
Stream & Purchase

Another release in Columbia’s grand and courageous attempt to record the complete works of Schoenberg. This release anticipated the onehundredthbirthday celebrations of a composer to whom Gould also devoted a book (Arnold Schoenberg—A Perspective) and a ten-part CBC radio series (Music of Today: Arnold Schoenberg).

Schoenberg: Songs for Voice and Piano

Released: 1972

    Disc 1

  1. Sechs Lieder, Op. 3: I. Wie Georg von Frundsberg von sich selber sang*
  2. Sechs Lieder, Op. 3: II. Die Aufgeregten
  3. Sechs Lieder, Op. 3: III. Warnung
  4. Sechs Lieder, Op. 3: IV. Hochzeitslied
  5. Sechs Lieder, Op. 3: V. Geübtes Herz
  6. Sechs Lieder, Op. 3: VI. Freihold
  7. Zwei Balladen, Op. 12: I. Jane Grey
  8. Zwei Balladen, Op. 12: II. Der verlorene Haufen*
  9. Drei Lieder, Op. 48: I. Sommermüd
  10. Drei Lieder, Op. 48: II. Tot
  11. Drei Lieder, Op. 48: III. Mädchenlied
  12. Zwei Lieder, Op. 14: I. Ich darf nicht dankend
  13. Zwei Lieder, Op. 14: II. In diesen Wintertagen
  14. Zwei Lieder, Op. post.: I. Gedenken
  15. Zwei Lieder, Op. post.: II. Am Strande
  16. Acht Lieder, Op. 6: I. Traumleben
  17. Acht Lieder, Op. 6: II. Alles
  18. Acht Lieder, Op. 6: III. Mädchenlied
  19. Acht Lieder, Op. 6: IV. Verlassen
  20. Acht Lieder, Op. 6: V. Ghasel
  21. Acht Lieder, Op. 6: VI. Am Wegrand
  22. Acht Lieder, Op. 6: VII. Lockung
  23. Acht Lieder, Op. 6: VIII. Der Wanderer